Meet Our Staff

Danielle Begley-Miller, Ph.D.

Director of Science and Stewardship

Danielle is an ecologist with an extensive background in forest research, specifically focusing on ecological interactions. She comes to Teatown from Penn State University where she received her doctoral degree in wildlife in 2018. During her time at Penn State, Danielle managed a large research project aimed at understanding the effects of both white-tailed deer and soil nutrition on forest plant communities. She is responsible for the implementation of Teatown’s land stewardship and environmental research programs, as well as the supervision of select volunteers and interns as they participate in these programs. In addition to her Ph.D., Danielle earned her master’s degree in biology from Wright State University in 2013.

Phyllis Bock

Director of Education

Phyllis is responsible for overseeing all of Teatown’s educational programming for adults, families and children at Teatown and offsite, including school programs, summer camp, weekend programs and multi-week series.  She has worked at Teatown since October 1991, when she began as a volunteer Nature Guide. Ms. Bock possesses a BA Biology with a concentration in field studies from Queens College, CUNY.  She is a member of the Yorktown Conservation Board and  the Advisory Committee on Open Space.

Kevin Carter

Executive Director

Kevin brings a broad range of experience, based on a sixteen-year career in leading science and children’s museums. These have included the California Science Center, the Children’s Museum of Indianapolis, and, most recently, Stepping Stones Museum for Children in Norwalk, CT, where he served as Chief Operating Officer. In each, Kevin developed innovative ways to deliver complex technical subjects in engaging ways, delighting visitors and taking the discovery experience beyond the walls of the museum. Kevin’s initial entry to the museum world came from his work in IMAX film production and exhibition. He is a graduate of the University of Southern California’s School of Cinema/Television and is keenly aware of the importance of technology and collaborative efforts in making the Teatown experience among the very best.

Millie Dellaquila

Administrative Assistant

Leigh Draper

Trails Technician

Susie Erdey

Director of Development

Susie has served in institutional advancement roles across the spectrum of nonprofit organizations in New York, Massachusetts and Rhode Island for more than two decades, including independent schools, graduate schools, research centers, foundations, philanthropic resource centers, and the Episcopal Church’s pension services group. She has raised funds, designed and managed communications and stewardship programs, educated clients on complicated financial matters, conducted qualitative and quantitative research, and trained staff to speak with the media. She holds a M.S. in nonprofit management from The New School–Milano School of International Affairs, Management, and Urban Policy, and a B.A. in sociology from Wells College. Susie is committed to bringing best practices in fundraising, communications, stewardship, and management, and she’s passionate about creating sustainable and resilient communities.

Shane Frasier

Marketing and Communications Coordinator

Mary Haley

Associate Director of Early Childhood Programs

Nadya Hall

Community Environmentalist

Lisa Kelly

Animal Care Supervisor

Jean Maiorano

Membership & Development Coordinator

Maggie Pichura

Senior Environmental Educator

Rebecca Policello

Science and Stewardship Coordinator

Michael Reyes


Marie Roche

Environmental Educator

Willard Sandford

HR and Office Manager

Elissa Schilmeister

Environmental Educator and Volunteer Coordinator

Alan Sorkin

Director of Facilities and Administration

Kevin Sterne

Facilities Maintainer

Karina Tarnawsky

Associate Director of Events and External Relations

Mike Tierney

Preserve Technician

Diane Uhle

Visitor Services and Seasonal Gardener

Lindsay Yoder

Aquatic Programs Coordinator

Diane DiVernieri, Director of Finance
Alex Cochran, P-T Land Steward
Leah Kennell, Wildflower Island Curator
Stephen Mengler, PT Maintainer

Website development and hosting by Iris Union